2014 EERI Award Recipients

The Institute congratulates the following 2014 award recipients and honorees:

2014 EERI Award RecipientsGeorge W. Housner Medal
Masayoshi Nakashima (M. EERI, 1988), Kyoto University

EERI Distinguished Lecture Award
David Wald (M. EERI, 1988), U.S. Geological Survey

William B. Joyner Lecture Award
David Boore, U.S. Geological Survey

Alfred E. Alquist Special Recognition Medal
Laurence Kornfield (M. EERI, 1999), City & County of San Francisco

Bruce A. Bolt Medal
Anthony Shakal (M. EERI, 1980), California Geological Survey

Spectra Outstanding Paper Award
“Using Collapse Risk Assessments to Inform Seismic Safety Policy for Older Concrete Buildings,” Earthquake Spectra (vol. 28, num. 4), by Abbie B. Liel (M. EERI, 2009), University of Colorado, and Gregory G. Deierlein (M. EERI, 1989), Stanford University

Shah Family Innovation Prize
(To be determined)

EERI Honorary Members
William A. Anderson (M. EERI, 2001)
Bill Iwan (M. EERI, 1989), California Institute of Technology

EERI/FEMA NEHRP Graduate Fellowship
Clinton Carlson (M. EERI, 2010), University of Michigan

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper
“Moving Towards An Improved Index for Assessing Liquefaction Hazard: Lessons from Historical Data” by Brett Maurer, Virginia Tech

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Paper
“Study of Site Specific Seismic Amplification in the National Capital Region” by Mark Tilashalski, Virginia Tech

EERI would like to thank the Honors Committee, EERI members, and partner organizations for their work during the awards nomination and consideration process. Honors Committee members included: chair Thalia Anagnos (M. EERI, 1982), Reginald DesRoches (M. EERI, 1995), Bill Holmes (M. EERI, 1975), Les Youd (M. EERI, 1974), and Kathleen Tierney (M. EERI, 1987).

The Institute will publish individual feature articles about each award recipient/honoree in upcoming issues of The Pulse

For general information about the annual EERI awards and honors, visit https://www.eeri.org/about-eeri/honors-awards/.