The Bruce Bolt Medal

The Bruce Bolt Medal is awarded jointly by the Consortium of Strong Motion Observation Systems (COSMOS), the Seismological Society of America (SSA), and EERI to recognize individuals worldwide whose accomplishments involve the promotion and use of strong-motion earthquake data and whose leadership in the transfer of scientific and engineering knowledge into practice or policy has led to improved seismic safety.

Call for Nominations for the 2019 Bruce Bolt Medal

Members of EERI, SSA, and COSMOS are encouraged to submit nominations for this distinguished award. Nominations will be reviewed in confidence by a six-person Joint Nomination Panel formed by two representatives of each if the three sponsoring organizations. The nominee will be considered in confidence by each organization’s board for their approval and selection of the medalist. The following criteria shall be used in nominating and selecting the recipient:

  1. Promotion of strong-motion instrumentation or advancing strong-motion data processing or data utilization;
  2. Technical contributions in seismic engineering or engineering seismology; and
  3. Leadership in the transfer of knowledge into practice or policy that has led to improved seismic safety.

The Joint Nomination Panel is charged with applying these criteria to select a nominee worthy of the high level of professional recognition represented by the sponsorship of the Bruce Bolt Medal by COSMOS, SSA, and EERI. Please note that current members of the Joint Panel are not eligible for nomination: Jose A. Martinez-Cruzado, Robert L. Nigbor, Maurice S. Powers, Jon Ake, Robert R. Youngs, and William “Woody” Savage (Chair of the Bolt Panel). The nomination letter, which should be no longer than two pages, must address the ways in which the candidate meets all three of the criteria. Along with the signed letter, the nomination package must include a substantial summary of the professional history of the candidate including employment, significant publications, honors, and activities and accomplishments relevant to the Bolt Medal criteria. The current contact information for the candidate must also be supplied. Up to three signed supporting letters (each no longer than two pages) may be included in the nomination package. Such letters should include a personal perspective on the nominee and his/her sustained impact on the field. The closing date for submitting nominations is June 15, 2019. Incomplete nomination packages will not be considered by the Joint Nomination Panel. Nomination packages (preferably as one combined .pdf file) for the Bruce Bolt Medal should be sent to the Bolt Medal Nomination Panel, in care of William (Woody) Savage at Questions regarding the Bolt Medal criteria or the nomination process for candidates may be directed to Woody at the above email address. While electronic submissions are preferred, in .pdf or .doc formats, hard copies may be sent to the following postal address:

Bolt Medal Nomination Panel In care of William Savage, 800 Blossom Hill Road, Unit P391, Los Gatos, CA 95032

If a hard copy is sent, the sender should notify Woody by email.