2018 EERI Board Election Nominees Announced

2017 Data to Policy Workshop: URM Retrofit Strategies That Engage Communities

On July 13, 2017 EERI and the Oregon Office of Emergency Management hosted a workshop in Salem, Oregon. The workshop included the technical aspects of retrofitting unreinforced masonry (URM) buildings, as well as the policy and community engagement side of state and local retrofitting strategies. A panel of experts in the field presented case studies and best practices from their regions. This workshop was made possible by a 2016-2017 State Support Grant provided by FEMA and administered by EERI.

Workshop Materials

Cale Ash, SE and Kent Yu, SE, PhD:
Technical Aspects of Seismic Retrofitting

Barry Welliver, SE; Utah Seismic Safety Commission:
Unreinforced Masonry Buildings in Utah

Jonna Papaefthimiou, AICP; Portland Bureau of Emergency Management:
Proposed Mandatory URM Retrofit Policy

Patrick Otellini; Swinerton Builders/(Former) SF Earthquake Safety Director:
Voluntary and Mandatory Seismic Retrofit Programs in San Francisco

Claire Clark; (Former) Economic Development Manager & Seismic Coordinator, San Luis Obispo:
City of San Luis Obispo Seismic Hazard Mitigation

Jake Brown; Portland Bureau of Development Services:
City of Portland Unreinforced Masonry Data Cleanup


11NCEE: 37 Special Sessions Announced!

NEHRP Turns 40, and Advocacy for Reauthorization Continues

EERI is Seeking a Program Manager

New Report on Pidie Jaya Earthquake Released

11NCEE Deadline Extended to June 25, 2017!

Carlien Bou-Chedid (M. EERI, 2011) named President of the Ghana Institution of Engineers, the organization’s first woman president

EERI is Marching for Science!

New Kaikoura Earthquake Reconnaissance Report now available